Boise Hawks join Pioneer League

The Boise Hawks were founded in 1987, and have been in the Northwest League since then. That comes to an end in 2020. They’ll be joining a new league in 2021.

One of two teams not to get an invite when the Northwest League joined High A.

Only hours after not making the cut for MLB or MiLB, the Boise Hawks decided to join the Pioneer League. Which is an independent professional MLB partnered league.

The Pioneer league has become an established partnered league of the MLB since this year.

The Pioneer league is an independent league that operates in the Rocky Mountain region. The team was first established in 1939.

The teams in the Pioneer League include the Hawks, Ogden Raptors, Billings Mustangs, Grand Junction Rockies, Northern Colorado Owlz ( formerly Orem Owlz), Helena Brewers, Missoula PaddleHeads, Rocky Mountain Vibes, Butte Copper Kings, and the reigning champion, the Idaho Falls Chukars.

The Chukars and Hawks had a little beef on Twitter when the Hawks joined:

Who will be Idaho’s favorite team? Idaho Falls or Boise?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s